Early voting began Tuesday


By Jessica Johnston, Reporter

The polls are open for people to cast their votes for the August 7 election.

The election taking place on August 7 is an unplanned election due to the resignation of Pat Tiberi, a former U.S. House Representative from the 12th Congressional District. Tiberi announced his resignation on October 19, 2017. He went on to serve as the president of the Ohio Business Roundtable.

Candidates running for U.S. House Representative from the 12th Congressional District position include Ohio State Senator Troy Balderson (R-OH) and the Franklin County Recorder Danny O’Connor, Jr. (D-OH).

Residents of the 12th Congressional District, which includes southern Muskingum County, can visit the Muskingum County Board of Elections to cast their votes.

All of Delaware, Licking and Morrow Counties plus parts of Franklin, Marion, Muskingum and Richland Counties make up the 12th Congressional District.

Voting for the early election will end on August 7 at 7:30 p.m.